Olympian Phiona Mutesi has set a record by becoming the first female player to win the open category of the National Junior Chess Championship held at City Tyres headquarters on Kira Road.  The two day event that started Saturday 11th August 2012 ended on Sunday 12 August 2012.

Mutesi being challenged by City Tyre's Boss Mr. Kumar Venkatesh

while UCF Treasurer Augustine Lwanga Looks on.

City Tyres sponsored the event by providing the venue and all amenities required for the tournament to take place including trophies for the winners.

16 year old Mutesi defied the odds by competing against the boys only to outwit them with a total of 6 points out of a possible 7. To win the event, Mutesi beat Joel Emojong, Richard Tugume, Kumar Hernanth, Benjamin Mukumbya, Kumar Tarrun and Abdul Ssetyabule. She only lost to Richard Buyinza.

The 2012 City Tyres Junior Event in Progress

The first runner up was Richard Buyinza with 5.5 points followed by Joel Emojong with 5 points. Emojong tied with Martin Musiime at the same number of points but the second runners up trophy went to Emojong owing to a better tie break.

The girls category was won by Stella Babirye with 7 points out of a possible 8. To win the event Babirye beat Nakimuli Joan, Namaganda Shanita, Nabacwa Carol, Namusisi Hellen, Nakayima Vanessa, Inaara Sangam, and Phiona Mugoya. She lost once to Gloria Nansubuga.

In second position was Gloria Nansubuga also at 7 points. The second runners up trophy went to Joan Nakimuli at 6.5 points.

Babirye Stella was a double winner as she also took the trophy for the Under 14 girls age category.

The Under 14 boys was won by Henry Kimbowa.

City Tyres General Manager, Kumar Venkatesh handed over trophies to the winners at the closing ceremony. The event was arbitrated by FIDE Arbiter, Stephen Kisuze.


The Event is organised by Junior Chess' Verna Mbabazi and sponsored for the first time by City Tyres who provided glamourous trophies and various other amenities. More details on the event can be found at Girl's Section and Open Section

Uganda Chess Federation © 2010  | Powered by Turkish Chess Federation