Last phase of Olympiad Qualifiers Ongoing
Monday, 08 February 2016 00:00

IM Arthur Ssegwanyi and FM Patrick Kawuma are on a roll in the ongoing Olympiad and Africa Individual Qualifiers after each won their first four games in a row. Ssegwanyi registered one of the biggest wins in the event this far by outwitting a 2258 rated Walter Okas in the fourth round played on Sunday 7th February, 2016 at Pope Paul Memorial Hotel in Rubaga. The loss was Okas' first in four games and it wasn't easy for the IM to grind out the much needed win that now puts him in a fairly comfortable position with 7 rounds to spare.

Kawuma, who is also in the driver's seat alongside Ssegwanyi had to dig deep in order to earn his fourth win against Simon Gonza in a cat and mouse game that lasted hours on end.

There is still a lot to play for as the tide can still change in the remaining rounds. The next four rounds are likely to feature must-win situations as some perennial contenders like FM Harold Wanyama are struggling with 2 points out of a possible 4. Wanyama beat Rajab Kamoga in the fourth round to register his second point after losing two consecutive games to Simon Gonza and Walter Okas, which puts him in a rather unfamiliar position in the Qualifiers.
Edgar Ntende, who dominated play in the second phase continued with his slow start in this round robin event by registering a third consecutive draw against Daniel Bagaadde in the fourth round.Farouk Fauza who has so far been literally sweating profusely during games managed to force a draw against Emmanuel Mwaka in the fourth round to get to one point out of a possible 4. On other boards, one of the only unrated players in the event, a rising youngster Richard Kato showed no respect to experience by bringing down a hard fighting Bob Bibasa to get to 1.5 points.
In the ladies category, WFM Grace Kigeni is having a field day after beating Shakira Ampaire and Joan Nakimuli in the last two rounds to remain unbeaten with 4 out of 4 points, full point ahead of her closest challengers.
Seriously in contention are Phiona Mutesi, Olympian Goretti Angolikin, Stella Babirye and Winnie Okoth with each having 3 out of 4 points. Mutesi strategically drew her last two games against WFMs Christine Namaganda and Goretti Angolikin in the third and fourth rounds respectively.
In her other game played today, Angolikin drew with Joyce Kabengano to also remain unbeaten. Babirye Stella drew with Nakimuli and Kabengano while Winnie Okoth beat Nakayima Vanessa and Shakira Ampaire.
The Qualifiers take a week's break as the fifth, sixth, seventh and eigth rounds continue next weekend at the same venue. The top five men and top five ladies will qualify to represent Uganda at the World Chess Olympiad in Baku, Azerbaijan in September 2016 and in the Africa Individual to be held in Kampala, Uganda in May 2016.

Details of the two events can be accessed at: Open Category and Ladies Category
Ntende leads top 12 to last phase of Olympiad Qualifiers
Sunday, 31 January 2016 22:58

Youthful sensation Edgar Ntende maintained his blistering form in the last two rounds of the Olympiad Qualifiers that ended at Pope Paul Memorial Hotel in Rubaga on Saturday 30 January 2016 by drawing with Richard Kato and CM Daniel Baagadde in the last two rounds to maintain an unbeaten record and half point lead at the top of the final standings. He finished with 6 points out of a possible 8.

Ntende had earlier on caused a stir in the early rounds by beating FM Harold Wanyama, Farouk Fauza, CM Bob Bibasa and drawing with FM Patrick Kawuma and a highly rated Walter Okas, which results helped him to consistently lead the event from beginning to end. The reward for him is a much coveted place in the last and final phase of the Olympiad and Africa Individual Qualifiers. The top 12 from this event will engage each other in a round robin commencing on 6 February 2016 to determine the top 5 to form the national team.
Walter Okas was the other outstanding performer in the second phase and finished in second position unbeaten with 5.5 points. He tied at the same number of points with Olympian Kawuma, Richard Kato (another youngster who impressed by punching above his weight) and Dan Baagadde.

The other players who made it to the last phase include Wanyama, Kamoga Rajab, IM Arthur Ssegwanyi (who had to dig deep to recover from a slow start), Farouk Fauza, Emmanuel Mwaka, Simon Gonza and Bob Bibasa. Notable absentees out of the top 12 include ex Olympians Mathias Ssonko, Shadrack Kantinti and perennial contender CM Haruna

Nsubuga who finished with 4, 4 and 3.5 points respectively. Such was the intensity and strength of the play over the grueling 8 rounds that players of such calibre couldn't score more than 50 percent.
Solomon Lubega and Benjamin Mukumbya also failed to make the grade. Mukumbya had earlier on shown flashes of brilliance by drawing with Ssegwanyi and beating Haruna Nsubuga among others only to crumple under unfamiliar pressure in the last two rounds against seemingly manageable opponents.

The pairing for the round robin (last phase) for men and ladies is already out and can be accessed on the link http://www.chess-results.com/tnr205845.aspx?lan=1&art=2&wi=821 And for ladies on http://www.chess-results.com/tnr205846.aspx?lan=1&art=2&wi=821
Uganda to host 2016 Africa Individual Chess Championship

Uganda Chess Federation unveiled its 2016 calendar before the media on Friday 15th January 2016 in the presence of National Council of Sports official, Mr. David Katende. The key highlight in the calendar is Uganda's hosting of the Africa Individual Chess Championship from 20 to 30 May 2016 in Kampala.


As hosts, Uganda will be able to feature at least 4 men in the Open and 4 ladies in the ladies categories. In the event of an odd number in the total number of participants, the hosts have the right to field an additional player. The hosts will also be required to provide free board and lodging for one player from each visiting country in each of the categories. Other countries can field a maximum of three players in each category.

The Federation also launched a fundraising drive for raising funds to host the event. UCF officials told the media that 2016 was going to be a very busy year since the national team would also be participating in the World Chess Olympiad due to be played in Baku, Azerbaijan in September 2016.

The first phase of the Qualifiers for the Olympiad has already been held. The first event on the 2016 calendar is the second phase of the Qualifiers (for men) scheduled to commence on Saturday 23rd January 2016 at Pope Paul Memorial Hotel. It will run over 8 days, the others being Sunday 24th, Tuesday 26th ( Public Holiday) and end on Saturday 30th January 2016. The third and last phase of the Qualifiers will be held in February 2016 for the team to be determined early enough. The first 4 players on the national team are the ones to represent the country at the Africa Individual Chess Championship, which will help them to warm up for the Olympiad.
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 52
Uganda Chess Federation © 2010  | Powered by Turkish Chess Federation